Meet the Manistee County Road Commissioners
CHAIRMAN - Robert E. Rishel
Mr. Rishel was appointed to the Board to serve a six-year term beginning January 2015. He was reappointed in January 2021.  He was elected Vice-Chair for 2015 and elected Chairman for 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022.  Mr. Rishel spent the majority of his work history as a certified welder in skilled trades in different union and management positions.  He also served the Wayne County Sheriff's Department as a deputy.  He currently serves on the Stronach Township Planning committee and has his own computer business.

Contact Commissioner Rishel at 231-398-9025

VICE-CHAIR- Sally Reckow

Ms. Reckow was re-appointed to a six-year term on the Road Commission Board to extending her service thru 2024.  She originally took office in January 2008.  Her position came about as the Manistee County Board took action to expand the Road Commission Board from three members to five members.  Sally served as the Board Chair in 2014 and 2015. She was elected as Vice-Chair in 2009, 2013, 2016, 2018, 2021 and 2022.

Contact Commissioner Reckow at 231-723-6654

MEMBERRichard Graham 

Mr. Graham was re-appointed to the Road Commission Board for a six-year term ending December 31, 2026.  Mr. Graham was appointed Road Commissioner in December 2013 to fill an unexpired term. Mr. Graham served as Vice-Chair for 2020.  
Contact Commissioner Graham at 231-864-2102

MEMBER - James J. Russell

Mr. Russell was appointed to the Board in 1995 through December 2001 and was reappointed in September 2007, 2010 and 2017 to serve thru December 2022.  Jim came back to the Board when the County Commission expanded the Road Commission Board from three members to five members.  Jim served as Vice-Chair for 2017.  

Contact Commissioner Russell at 231-633-6699

MEMBER - Jeffrey Lawrence

Mr. Lawrence was appointed to the Board in February of 2021 to fill a vacant position that will expire in 2022

Contact Commissioner Lawrence at 269-317-5883